Nerd Nite Tokyo: Star Power

This woebegone year is nearly behind us. Things are looking up! In December let’s take a dive into genomics and evolutionary history, learn how the Harvard Computers shaped our understanding of the universe, and discover how a naval disaster led to the development of GPS.

–> Watch for free or buy a ticket <–

Speakers and approximate schedule (times JST):

1. (20:15) Kathryn Elmer — Species Recovery After Collapse
Pollution can decimate fish, but species can bounce back quickly.

2. (21:00) Saida Caballero-Nieves — Hidden Figures of Astronomy
Early work in astrophysics was done by human calculators, skilled women who sorted stars by their spectra.

3. (21:45) Don Warren — Wherever You Go, There You Are: From the Scilly Seas to GPS
Measuring latitude and longitude was a big problem for safely navigating the seas. How was it solved, and what do time and special and general relativity have to do with it?

When: December 4 (Friday), start 20:00 (JST) [11am London, 6am New York]

Where: YouTube
* Get a ticket here, free option is also available: https://eventsframe.com/e/mPMp1Vgl2/nerd-nite-tokyo-star-power/tickets/

You can donate or buy a beaker at https://ytg.jp/support/

Comments are closed.